Authentic Learning-making it high stakes Part2

Standard

A quick follow up to the film night.

Simply put, it went well. The students ran the entire night (including the OHS&W announcements) with everyone mingling as we hoped during the interval.The variety of “flms” allowed parents to observe the diversity of modalities that can be used and allowed the different students to showcase their learning accordingly. What I have been most impressed by, has been the way a high stakes task combined with a collaborative learning approach, resulted in students who were determined to overcome difficulties/challenges. Of the groups involved, only two were unable to show their films. One because the film could not be read and another because one member of the group forgot to bring in the necessary pieces to complete filming.

In class the next day, students wrote reflective pieces based on their experience of the night before. They used a partner approach to edit their work (everyone had to provide one piece of constructive criticism) and then shared selected pieces from their film night reflection. Students had to rate their involvement, enjoyment and “learning value” in relation to the task in its entirety. They also compared these ratings to an earlier task. This was an interesting and informative exercise for both the students and myself. The next piece of reflection will be an individual reflection on how their group functioned over the duration of the task.

Unfortunately, I don’t have the results with me (I know, I know!). I will add to this post with figures from the rating activity along with quotes. šŸ™‚

So … anecdotally; yes, it achieved my aims. The readng I have done, by Jensen and others has been confirmed by this activity. šŸ™‚ This activity = Happy teacher – Happy students – Happy parents – Everyone learns

About Kate Pill

I am a Secondary School teacher who is passionate about developing students' ability to answer the "who, what, when, why, how, what if and what next" questions over the course of their learning. A "mature starter" (read as - late!) to the teaching game, I am still developing my IT street smarts. This blog will chart my own journey through the metacognition landscape as I facilitate my students' understanding of not only WHAT they are learning but HOW they are learning it. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

