metacognition – social media & the paperless classroom

Standard

I have been given permission to use twitter with my students. I have developed this a bit further and the following explains how I am thinking of using this social media site (in no special order!):

  • I would use twitter and blogging as a way to facilitate my students’ metacognitive skills with Bloom’s taxonomy underpinning how they would show this development and, inform the assessment of this development. 
  • The different levels of Bloom’s Taxonomy would be explained and  modelled so that students understand the “how and why” of the task. A number of students understand Bloom’s so I would have them lead the discussion and, would have students identify and explain examples of these levels from a variety of examples.
  • As a class we would look at a topical issue ie. global warming.
  • Students would  be given 4 -5 twitter accounts to follow, from which they would use their blog as a journal in which to record their observations.
  • They would not only record the different arguments but be required to demonstrate what the expert is arguing and what this means. eg. Al Gore says “this”, which means “this”. (as well as identify different arguments and explain how they are different).
  • At the end of their journal, students woukld be asked to respond to a prompt, requiring them to argue a point of view in an essay of approximately 500 words.
  • This task would, therefore, sit across the English and SOSE (environmental studies) learning areas, with a dash of science thrown in!
  • each student has a twitteraccount
  • each student has a blog
  • I have each student’s username and password
  • They only follow the sites I recommend
  • I will of course be following each student – haven’t decided whetherthey will be following each other
  • Some class activities will be planned where students are tweeting in “real time”. ie a theory lesson that I give.
  • At the start of this unit of work, protocols of safe online behaviour will be discussed. This will allow students to develop  an ability to protect their online identity and, learn how to behave in the virtual community. The intention is that they will further develop their ability to protect themselves from bullying and other forms of unwanted attention. Students will be taught how to protect their identity.
About Kate Pill

I am a Secondary School teacher who is passionate about developing students' ability to answer the "who, what, when, why, how, what if and what next" questions over the course of their learning. A "mature starter" (read as - late!) to the teaching game, I am still developing my IT street smarts. This blog will chart my own journey through the metacognition landscape as I facilitate my students' understanding of not only WHAT they are learning but HOW they are learning it. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

