Student-Centred feedback = class results

Standard

It has taken longer than I originally intended but, I have finally finished my, “Facilitating the Development of  Reflective Learners” activity!

This relates to a mini-research activity I wrote about in a previous blog. I have attached the power point from that post to this post as well (the introductory power point where I outlined what I was doing etc).

facilitating-the-development-of-reflective-learners2

Results:

25 students: Of this number …

  • 12 correctly identified their final result.
  • 10 added a “qualifier” to their mark ie. B- , when it was a B. The students who did this were usually students whose work “sat” between two grade bands. See note at the end of this post.
  • 2  underestimated by a “complete” grade range. ie. C when it was a B
  • 1 was unsure of their grade and found the questions difficult to understand.

I was happy with the discussions that I had with the students as most were able to clearly identify where they may have lost marks/ areas for improvement. A number were able to clearly identify and explain what they did well.

CONCLUSION:   Was this worthwhile? YES – It gave me an insight into how students’ metacognitive abilities were developing. The written component students must complete that follows this discussion will also be interesting to evaluate.  Would I do it again? YES – Students have just submitted a letter writing task (see an earlier blog re this), which will complement this activity. I also will be applying the skills they have developed to their Movie Task, where in small groups, they are creating a movie about a country of their choice, to be shown to their parents/caregivers early next term. This will be part of a fundraiser to raise funds for an animal charity of their choice, but more on that later. 🙂

The teacher I work with (our school has a Middle- School philosophy, where students have two key teachers who meet each week to discuss, plan, implement and evaluate a variety of middle-school teaching strategies) commented during our weekly meeting today, that their metacognitive abilities had improved. We are both working on this with them so hopefully they will be able to develop skills that allow them ALL to achieve to the best of their potential.

“Aim for the Moon and you just might catch a Star.”

NOTE: SACSA grading (used when finalising the formal reporting process) does not allow for plus or minus grades. However, I use these as a teaching tool so that students develop an understanding of where they are on the grading continuum. This allows students who, whilst they may officially be a SACSA, C Grade, can receive positive reinforcement for their efforts during the assessment period, by granting C+ in order to communicate improvement.  

On a personal note … Whilst these sorts of activities may take a little longer to implement and manage, they provide “ahaa” moments when you realise just why you love your job! 🙂 🙂

About Kate Pill

I am a Secondary School teacher who is passionate about developing students' ability to answer the "who, what, when, why, how, what if and what next" questions over the course of their learning. A "mature starter" (read as - late!) to the teaching game, I am still developing my IT street smarts. This blog will chart my own journey through the metacognition landscape as I facilitate my students' understanding of not only WHAT they are learning but HOW they are learning it. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

