Jean Blaydes Madigan – action based learning

Standard

 Some interesting thoughts in this youtube clip by Jean Blaydes Madigan. Her approach provides an opportunity to create a classroom environment that embraces a truly differential approach to learning. Next week I will be able to use her approach to learning with my students. This will help me compare the results of their learning with the “worksheet” activity mentioned earlier in my blog. Watch this space for updated stats re the worksheet and the accompanying comparison with the Jean Blaydes Madigan approach. It will be interesting  to observe just how much the students can increase their levels of critical thinking. Do I have a hypothesis? Yes – I expect an increase but will need to sit down and think about the variables and, in order to create some control, will use the same lesson (after lunch on a Thursday afternoon). Hmm … http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CO87E6hGv0I

About Kate Pill

I am a Secondary School teacher who is passionate about developing students' ability to answer the "who, what, when, why, how, what if and what next" questions over the course of their learning. A "mature starter" (read as - late!) to the teaching game, I am still developing my IT street smarts. This blog will chart my own journey through the metacognition landscape as I facilitate my students' understanding of not only WHAT they are learning but HOW they are learning it. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

