Meaningful Feedback

Standard

Tomorrow’s plan:

Tomorrow my students create their own Winter Olympics teams. Well, actually I place them into teams (the whole “strategic” group thing!). They will be creating team names, colours, flags, slogans and coat of arms for our Cool Runnings mini-Olympics. Whilst this is happening I will commence workshopping with each student the results from their recent worksheet and, their last summative task. This is to celebrate not only what they have done well, but also to help them identify areas for further development. I will make a water analogy – sparkling, clear, cloudy to help them understand what they are doing well, okay and what needs improvement. I will firstly, ask them to look at their work and identify (and explain) what they thougth they did well and what they thought was okay, but …

Can’t wait to do the bobsled race – have got some ideas!! 🙂 🙂 We will play music, have team chants – the works (dim the lights) – basically, we will use a “film technique” approach to the staging of the races. Students will get to choose the music etc for their rounds. Doing so will allow them to put into practice their understanding of the different film techniques they have learnt whilst watching the film.

About Kate Pill

I am a Secondary School teacher who is passionate about developing students' ability to answer the "who, what, when, why, how, what if and what next" questions over the course of their learning. A "mature starter" (read as - late!) to the teaching game, I am still developing my IT street smarts. This blog will chart my own journey through the metacognition landscape as I facilitate my students' understanding of not only WHAT they are learning but HOW they are learning it. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

