Experiment Time!

Standard

This week we have completed watching Cool Runnings. After viewing the film, I gave the students a ” Contents Questions” handout to complete. I did this with just the barest of instructions – enough to ensure they complete it properly. In contrast to my usual approach, I did not ask them to unpack the task and tell me (and each other) what was required to successfully complete the task. It is due next week and it will be interesting to observe how they perform in comparison to the “Discussion Questions” we will be completing whilst viewing the film a second time. For the second question sheet, I will incorporate a combination of Jean Blaydes Madigan’s theories as well as some Eric Jensen in order to facilitate metacognitive thinking. It is my expectation that the level of analysis demonstrated will be significantly higher for the second lot of questions. Students will also have choices as to which questions they complete – more on this next week. I will be interested to observe how students at the varying ends of the spectrum perform.

We also start our own Winter Olympics!!! Can’t wait 🙂  The students will incorporate into their learning, a series of Winter Olympic events, culminating in an awards ceremony using key ideas from the unit of work. Can’t wait for the bobsledding 🙂

Students will learn about film techniques using Jean Blaydes Madigan’s kinesthetic approach.

About Kate Pill

I am a Secondary School teacher who is passionate about developing students' ability to answer the "who, what, when, why, how, what if and what next" questions over the course of their learning. A "mature starter" (read as - late!) to the teaching game, I am still developing my IT street smarts. This blog will chart my own journey through the metacognition landscape as I facilitate my students' understanding of not only WHAT they are learning but HOW they are learning it. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

